/dist/images/branding/favicon

Unwanted micro movement in 50mm M5 footage

Discussion in 'MōVI M5' started by Martin Hermansen, Apr 9, 2017.

1. Martin Hermansen

Martin Hermansen New Member

Hi everyone!

I am new to the M5, and I am corrently experimenting with a 50mm (aps-c) lens on a Canon DSLR. It's pretty light weight and the balance is as close as I can get it. I am using autotune with a procentage of 70, an a pan, tilt and roll strenght of 100. I am using smooth lock on tilt and a high window on pan however, I am still seeing some micro movement in the footage.

Here is a link to a video showing the footage at 100% and at a 300% crop:

I hope you can help me to resolve this issue.

Best regards, Martin.

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Martin: Could you try increasing the mass-in-motion on the M5? Tape something to the top of the camera and re-balance it.

It might be that there's just not enough mass in what you have on the gimbal for the stabilization to operate effectively.

Andy

Forensic Software & sUAV / Drone Analyst : Photographer : Videographer : Pilot (Portland, Oregon, USA): Trees=2, Ground=1, Props=11. :(
    The Ground Is The Limit™
    ---------- Forensic Drone Analyst : Forensic sUAV Analyst : Forensic Unmanned Aircraft Analyst : Forensic Drone Expert

3. Martin Hermansen

Hi Andy!

I have actually tried a bigger lens, the sigma 24-105 f4, which is very heavy compared to the one i currently use, but unfortunately that didn't help.

The people at the Freefly Movi user group on Facebook say that it is a translational issue. But to me, it just doesnt look like a purely translational issue...

4. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

The next thing to check is that everything attached to the MoVI is tight -- if there is any loose mass anywhere on the MoVI it can cause problems.