/dist/images/branding/favicon

Radian and sbus

Discussion in 'Radian' started by Pavlos Antoniou, Oct 9, 2012.

1. Pavlos Antoniou

Guys i am new to radian and sbus too... If i use sbus reciever is there a need for the pclink of the reciever??

Thank you!!

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi PaNt:
    No, you don't need to using the CIU PClink software -- the Radian sensors appear to the S-bus receiver as S-bus servos. The first Radian sensor is connected to the receiver, the second sensor is daisy chained to the first sensor, and the third sensor is daisy-chained to the second (the sensors use S-bus between themselves). You set the channel numbers to which they respond using the Radian software itself. Each Radian can respond to up to three different channels:

1 - The control signal for the slew commanded (not normally used for roll -- let the Radian keep it level).
    2. - The mode control (off, stabilized without ground control, stabilized with ground control)
    3. - An optional auxiliary PWM port to which you could control a PWM servo or a camera control.

You set the channel numbers in the Radian software. So, for example, channel 5 could be the mode control for all three Radians (tilt, roll, and pan).

You really do need to use the mode control at least for pan so that you can avoid the phenomenon of having the top part of the Cinestar spinning when the gimbal is on the ground -- which happens because the Radian pan sensor is trying to "stabilize" the pan axis, but, of course, cannot move the gimbal because it's on the ground.

Hope this helps.
    Andy

3. Pavlos Antoniou

When i have PPM setup or SBus setup the recievers PWM channels are working too???

THank you

4. Pavlos Antoniou

Also has anyone tried the Frsky Sbus or PPM recievers..!

5. Andy Johnson-Laird

Staff Member

The Aux port can be used for PWM when you use either PPM or Sbus.