/dist/images/branding/favicon

MikroKopter GPS characteristics

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Charlie Cushing, Sep 1, 2014.

1. Charlie Cushing

I own a Cinestar 8 with Mikrocopter electronics. The chopper was built in May 2014.

I have many years of RC airplane experience and a couple years in the multi rotor world. I first started with a DJI 450 and later a 550. With DJI the three flight options were Manual, ATTI, and GPS. I flew on GPS most of the time and found it to be the easiest especially in any wind.

I'm now comparing this to the Mikrocopter electronics which is set up for GPS stabilized, GPS POSITION HOLD, GPS COME HOME and GPS ALTITUDE HOLD.

The closest comparison in Mikrocopter to the DJI GPS function is GPS HOLD, but for those of you that have tried forward flight in this mode know that it doesn't perform very well.

Is there are way to adjust this in MK TOOL? Or is this just how the Cinestar and the Mikrocopter electronics fly differently from the DJI? From my perspective, it's just harder to fly in the GPS stabilized mode especially if there is any wind, but also means I need to become a better pilot. I'm more concerned for when I start flying FPV, to have to trust the camera for every movement of the chopper, the GPS stabilized mode needs a lot of control input. Thanks for any advice from the FF Forum.

2. Ozkan Erden

Ozkan Erden Distributor

Hello Charlie,

Take a look here:

http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/MK-Parameter/Navi-Ctrl 2

So, you can try dynamic position hold off if you wanna move faster between the positions.

Another thing you can do is, to increase the GPS angle a bit more, so you will be able to move a bit faster, around 150.

3. Charlie Cushing

Thank you, I will give that a try. In your experience which one is better for what I'm looking for? Turning off the Dynamic Position Hold or just bringing that GPS angle up? Thanks again!

4. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

HI Charlie