/dist/images/branding/favicon

Custom Made Transport Case II - who wants one?

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Wolfgang Armin, Dec 28, 2012.

1. Wolfgang Armin

Wolfgang Armin Active Member

Hi all,
    one thing I´m badly missing in the freefly lineup is a top notch transport case.
    Being a photographer I have dozens of cases, pelis, backpacks and whatnot of some of the best known manufactorers. The one I love most is the Tenba air case for my iMac. It´s lightweight, rigid and has a great form factor.
    Unfortunately Tenba doesn´t have readily available cases in the size of a cinestar8 (with 360 gimbal), but they do have a request form for custom cases.
    However, there is a note: "very small quantities are not possible if the item cannot be based on an existing Tenba item". While I don´t know what very small quantities are, I asked myself if there would be more people like me willing to investing some money in a well built case.
    One idea would be a get together and request for a larger quantity shipped to different addresses.
    The other one would be Freefly contacting Tenba for such a request.

Either way: Anybody interested?

Cheers,
    Wolfgang

2. Sam Slape

Sam Slape Member

Interested. Would it be best to have a case for booms attached or removed? I'm not sure as I'm still building, those who are traveling will have a better idea.

3. Wolfgang Armin

Sam,
    it depends I would say ;-).
    If you are traveling by air with your copter and have enough time to assemble/calibrate it on location, I´d have booms, etc. removed. Then you don´t need a custom case and can go with what´s readily available. On my last journey I used this one. Since it´s bigger and lighter than pelicases and solid enough (while you can´t roll over it with your car, you can easily sit on it).
    If not, and you need to be fast on location or go by car, it would be better to transport your cinestar ready to fly. That´s when you need a gib custom case.