/dist/images/branding/favicon

Can I do Better... If So please give me some ideas

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Steven Flynn, Aug 9, 2013.

1. Steven Flynn

Steven Flynn Member

I'm relatively new to this aerial stuff (5 months now). I am getting some nice stuff, but I'm finding I have to do post processing because my cameras have too much shake. I'm flying a CS8 with 3 axis radian gimbal. Gains set in the mid 70's to 80's. I'll be the first to say I have never achieved "perfect" balance of the camera (got close but not perfect). I changed supension to 4 blue and 3 red rings which stiffened it up and it seems better... but is this video the best I can expect? I must be able to get closer. Is it a given that to get a glass smooth image you have to post process. This flight was in little to no wind. Little to no pilot inputs, and gimbal is performing smoothly. I want to use as little post process as possible because software seems to struggle with the z axis when you are close to treetops etc... but lateral movements come out fine... but the sharpness is slightly reduced. This video has 12 seconds of final imagery, then a repeat with a split screen so you can see raw vs. post, then the same repeats with just raw. I left the motor noise on so you can hear the motors. Also, this flight has plastic props, I'm down one wood xoar so I had to go plastic (ick). You can be kind, cruel, just give it to me straight! :) Thanks for any suggestions or tips.

2. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

What camera are you using?

Balancing the camera is super important, and if you get it right, it can make all the difference. The servo/belt combo on the Freefly gimbals is very sensitive to balance.