/dist/images/branding/favicon

What is better solution : to be heavy or to be unbalanced ?

Discussion in '3 Axis Gimbal' started by David Tivadze, Apr 19, 2014.

1. David Tivadze

David Tivadze Member

Recently faced with the following problem:
    I already balanced my BMPCC with Lumix 12-35 mm lenses on FF 3 axis camera gimbal . Rather tricky… but anyway….
    So, in whole process of balancing the camera, my main target was to have camera located at particular point, so, when it is tilted down 90grad (looks exactly down) the center of rotation (pan) of gimbal to be exactly on the same line as the optical axis of the lens. I like the shots, when camera looks 90 grad down and rotates, but this shots are more beautiful when camera rotates around its optical axis.
    And here comes my problem. Having camera at that particular place I have my whole gimbal CG out of balance. I mean it is bottom heavy. The only way to balance the CG is to move camera forward, but I can't do it, because I will shift the camera's optical axis from the center rotation of the gimbal.

So:
    1. I can mount the gimbal to CS8 as it is now and let's CS brain to make everything level. And I know, that in that case some of the motors will work with increased load to compensate the issue.
    2. I can put some load on the front, so the gimbal's CG will be balanced, but the gimbal will become more heavy and in that case all the motors will work with equal load, but heavier gimbal will also eat my flight time.

SO, which case is more acceptable and more correct way.
    Thank You in advance
    David

2. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

David

Answer: Neither