/dist/images/branding/favicon

Top 10 reasons for pan drift...

Discussion in 'MōVI Pro' started by Steven Deneault, Nov 10, 2019.

1. Steven Deneault

Steven Deneault New Member

Hi everyone.

So I thought I'd ask/post something that could potentially help others (and me) when you're dealing with a Movi Pro that has pan drift. I'll give an example of what I recently have been dealing with and maybe that could lead us to discussing other situations and solutions...

I'm a camera operator working on the TV show Riverdale for the last 3 seasons. I've been using Movi Pro for all three seasons.

Here's the current issue I'm having with pan drift....We build the movi on the jib and I'm operating with the alpha wheels and movi controller. I'll set the shot, from A to B. and at point A the camera is rock solid, holds position perfectly. When the camera is moved to point B (Jib moves the gimbal higher / lower etc) the gimbal now starts to drift and I have to back pan to hold position (sometimes very difficult depending on the drift).

I've resorted to dialing in "pan trim" and "pan speed" in the user 1 and user 2 knobs on the Movi Controller, to try and dial out the drift, but it seems to rear its head no matter what.

I'm constantly dealing with this and am hoping we can discuss the possible culprits of the pan drift happening in one position of the shot and not in another. Improper balance? Hold strength etc?

Look forward to hearing some thoughts and situations others have dealt with.

Best,
    Steve Deneault

2. Graham Futerfas

Graham Futerfas Well-Known Member

I go into the Dual Op settings and set the Pan Window to 1 instead of zero. This seems to allow the gimbal to ignore any "noise" in the analog signal from the Movi Controller, and you can trim it out with Pan Drift on the user knob. The downside is there's a little play in the Pan gear now, but I don't find it affects my operating terribly, and it's better than dealing with the drift.

3. Wayne Mann