/dist/images/branding/favicon

Red Epic+Preston power ?

Discussion in 'MōVI M15' started by Matt Mouraud, Nov 13, 2015.

1. Matt Mouraud

Matt Mouraud New Member

Hi guys, I'm looking for a good way to mount a Preston receiver on an M15, with a RED Dragon... The whole thing going on a Tero. Any idea welcome.

2. Graham Futerfas

Graham Futerfas Well-Known Member

Hi Matt, would Bongo ties work? Or Scotch Dual Lock? Preston MDR receiver is a lot bigger than my Bartech fStop , but I mount it on top of the M15 cage. Of course, I'd love to see how other people mount their receivers. Here's a photo.

Attached Files:

3. Matt Mouraud

Matt Mouraud New Member

Hi Graham, yes it would, it's a tetris game ! Would you mind posting more pics of your setup ? Thanks !

4. Graham Futerfas

Here's a wider shot. I'm a Movi newbie, so I'm still learning how to best configure things. The cables are a bit messy in this shot, too.

IMG_0320.jpg

A friend of mine showed me the Bongo tie trick, and I also use those ties to tuck the cables in. I actually have a bunch of them for routing cables and adding pressure to the lens motor.

For the Epic, I have a hyper thin LCD\EVF cable that goes from the camera to the RED LCD monitor that mounts on the Movi ring (or handles). All the other cables and battery power are contained on the camera body itself, so there's no other cables to pull on or affect the motors. I also have some hyper-thin BNC cables that could be used for monitoring, but it's convenient to have the LCD attached so you can make menu and settings adjustments on the fly.

I have a Teradek Bolt that also fits on top. The downside to these being on top is having room to balance the Roll axis (left-right) of the camera, but with an Epic and side mounted battery, there's not much clearance left anyway, so you have to be pretty close with the Roll beam axis balance that's adjusted by the Hex bolts behind the camera near the Movi brains.