/dist/images/branding/favicon

Radian creeping movement: tilt moves on its own

Discussion in '2 Axis Gimbal' started by Fulvio Tonon, Jul 25, 2014.

1. Fulvio Tonon

Fulvio Tonon New Member

Hello Everyone!

I have a C8 HL (MK FC 2.5, BL 3.0, 6S). I have 2 radians in my 2-axis gimbal, and I have a MC-32 RC.. The roll radian is not connected to an MC-32 slider, and it works well, i.e. no drift. However, I’ve been battling with the tilt radian for a couple of days now (this is my first time using the gimbal)…

Here’s the problem: I tilt the gimbal with the MC-32 slider assigned to the tilt (channel 10) up or down to the tilt angle that I need, then I position the slider on the center (0). At this point, the camera slowly keeps moving in the direction I tilted the camera (creep). If I tilt the camera upwards, the movement is upwards, if I tilt the camera downwards, the movement is downwards. This has nothing to do with balancing: I tried with a perfectly balanced camera (checked with no belts) and with an unbalanced camera.

I checked the camera direction with a bubble level, and the bubble continuously moves until the level falls off: after 5 min, the camera is visibly pointing to a different direction. If I move my copter around by hand, the creep movement keeps going as it does when the copter sits on the bench. If I try to stop the creeping movement with my finger, I can definitively feel the force exerted by the servo, so it is not a gravity-induced movement: the servos are “instructed” to slowly keep moving.

I connected the tilt radian to my computer and changed the gain btw 50 and 200%, and the angle trim btw -8 and 0.9, but the result is the same.

I also checked channel 10 in the MK tool, and it is at 127 (i.e. 0 power) when the creep movement occurs.

Would you have any suggestions? In my applications it is vital that the camera points to a constant tilt angle (e.g., always horizontal or always vertical) for the duration of the flight (20-25 min).