/dist/images/branding/favicon

Power requirements?

Discussion in 'Radian' started by Steve Maller, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

I have a CS8 with 2-axis gimbal. I'm wondering if I should use a separate battery for the camera stuff or run it off the mains.

With a separate battery powering the BEC, the 2 Radians (2-axis gimbal), HDMI converter, and an Iftron 5.8ghz FPV TX, what's a good guideline for how big of a battery i'll need? And/or if I power it from the copter's battery what kind of impact on flying times will I see?

2. Adam Paugh

Adam Paugh Distributor

Hello Steve,

I think you will find that most people here are using a separate 12v Lipo to power the gimbal/downlink components. All of the components on your list above can be powered via 12v lipo with the BEC in-line to condition the voltage to 5.1v, less the 5.8gHz FPV Tx which should take 12v. This can be accomplished by splicing out the power from the 12v lipo and sending one wiring harness to the 5.8 Tx and the other wiring harness to the BEC. The BEC will then power the Radian, servos and FF hdmi converter.

Hope this helps.

Greetings,
    Adam

3. Steve Maller

Adam, that's exactly what I was looking for.
    Is a 500mAh Lipo enough? 800? 1200?

So grateful for this awesome resource! Thank you!

4. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Typically I've seen 1200 maH batteries, Steve. The one from QC has a nice form factor (so may others, but this is the one I use).
    I put a strip of Velcro in the middle of the label, and some camper foam tape to the top surface of the right hand forward boom (as you look at the gimbal from the rear), and some Velcro around the boom at battery. This puts the battery opposite the Radian sensor, servo and pulley for tilt and tends to counter balance it.

I get over an hour's elapsed time on the battery -- I use a LiPo battery alarm on it so I don't forget to swap it out on a shoot.

Andy.