/dist/images/branding/favicon

Potential Cinestar 8 HL buyer/builder questions

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Daniel Delaunay, Dec 28, 2012.

1. Daniel Delaunay

After one year of FPV training and long nights diving into forums, I'm finally getting ready to start buying parts and slowly assemble my first professional multirotor.
    Since I will be putting a considerable amount of money on a pro level machine, I'm considering building a Cinestar8 heavy lifter that could carry up to a RED, giving me a very flexible work horse for all kinds of jobs.

But since I'm quite new to Cinestar builds, I still have many important questions like:
    Does the Cinestar 8 can be mounted in "+" and also "x" arms configuration without any mod?
    Since I've got used to small quads and hexas I do prefer X configuration and I also noticed in many Cinestar8 raw videos the front boom (+ build) frequently showing down on camera frame.
    Is that something I should worry?

To carry the RED would I need to make permanent mods to the Cinestar 3axis gimbal or the RED configuration can be quickly changed back to normal for carrying other smaller cameras like the EOS 5D or CX760 ?

Regarding motors choice, recently many pancake models made specific for multirotors have showed up in the market. Some shops now have their own branded versions for multirotors.
    I know most Cinestar8 HL users have been using AXI or more recently 3515 T-Motors (usually rebranded) with good results.
    The AXIs seems out of my budget and I was wondering if anyone using the new pancakes can say if they perform any better than the 3515 motors. I imagine they can offer lower amps and better efficiency, probably resulting in less expensive distribution boards and longer flight times without sacrificing the required power for a serious heavy lifter.

And what would be the maximum propellers size to fit in the standard frame?