/dist/images/branding/favicon

New HeavyLift Build w/Herkules III ESC system

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Josh Lambeth, Sep 9, 2014.

1. Josh Lambeth

Josh Lambeth Well-Known Member

Hey Guys,
    First I want to say this doesn't really have much to do with anything FreeFly builds so if it gets removed I understand. It's mainly to inform people of the awesome products from KDE and Herkules for their electronics in this build.

Recently I started rebuilding our SynDrones X8HL frame into a bigger heavylift rig. I had built it once already with the A2 FC, KDE 4014-380KV motors, and KDE 55+Amp ESCs but the A2 failed and caused a crash. I decided to rebuild without using the A2 and went back to the trusted MikroKopter FC which I have been flying on our smaller Cinestar 8 frame for over 2 years without an issue.

Here are the specs for the new build:
    -SynDrones X8HL Frame (best frame out there honestly)!
    -Mikrokopter 2.5FC w/Navi Ctrl and GPS
    -Herkules III Quadro XL (x2) ESC system
    -KDE 5215-435KV motors
    -T-Motor 18x6.1 CF Props

Here are some pictures from the build.
    x8-1.jpg x8-2.jpg
    These motors are HUGE! I had to modify the motor mount slightly so the hole on the bottom would clear the screw that helps hold the shaft collar on. I don't have the large motor mounts for the frame since originally I was just using the 4014s.

x8-4.jpg
    x8-3.jpg
    Because I am using 2 of the Herkules boards I have 4 power leads coming out of them. I only am flying with 2 batteries so I merged them together so I have the each battery power both boards. To do this I used 2x 5mm bullet connectors and soldered a power lead from each board into the LONG end. Then I soldered them together with a single wire coming out from the connectors and heatshrank it all together.