/dist/images/branding/favicon

New Alta 8 does not fly where it is pointed.

Discussion in 'ALTA 8' started by Rick Gerard, Dec 15, 2018.

1. Rick Gerard

Rick Gerard Active Member

I have a lot of experience with my Alta 6 and even more with other drones from DJI and others. I have never seen this problem before. If I stand directly behind the Alta and push straight forward on the stick it moves away from me as expected but the path is about 10º to 12º to the left. Did you follow that? Line up with a tree on the horizon, make sure the FPV camera has the tree centered, stand directly behind the Alta so you are sure that everything is lined up and push the stick forward making sure not to throw any yaw into the controls, and the aircraft drifts to the left by 12 to 15 feet for every hundred feet you go forward.

I have checked trim and everything else I can think of but unless I constantly apply right yaw (rudder) I can't get the Alta to track in a straight line. It isn't turning in an arc like it would if the trim was off, it just does not go where it is pointed. If it was a car I would say that it is out of alignment. If it was an airplane I would say that the vertical tail was not lined up with the fuselage. The angle is constant no matter what the speed.

Any troubleshooting tips would be greatly appreciated.

2. Henry Symons Jones

Henry Symons Jones New Member

Have you set the compass declination to your area?

3. Rick Gerard