/dist/images/branding/favicon

Movilapse (Hyperlapse) unusable

Discussion in 'Movi Technical' started by Rick Gerard, Jun 8, 2018.

1. Rick Gerard

Rick Gerard Active Member

Let me start out by saying that I'm a very experienced filmmaker, I own a MoVI Pro, have owned and operated Steadicam's and a bunch of other camera stabilization devices since the early 1970's. I also own a DJI Osmo with three different heads, one for a smartphone, one standard and one Zenmuse head.

I routinely mount my Osmo head remotely and shoot hyperlapse footage. The control is amazing and the results are spectacular.

I also have a hyperlapse app for my iPhone. it uses the phone's motion sensing to smooth things out. Both produce amazingly high-quality videos.

I cannot say the same for the MOVI. I tried for a couple of hours to record driving through Kings Canyon in California and it was a disaster. I hard mounted the MOVI to a suction cup mount in the center of the windshield. The response is so slow that the camera panned around so far that it routinely saw both side windows and once it came clear around to show me, then slowly started to return to pointing straight ahead. The horizon would also not stay level and there were a lot of tilt shocks in the shots.

I tried the timelapse mode also but it seemed like the stabilization was almost completely turned off. That was also a disaster. I finally broke out the OSMO and compressed 12 miles into 30 seconds that was perfectly smooth and the shot was always right out the windshield.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Some of the other features are pretty nice but the MOVI is not nearly as versatile as the OSMO.

2. Rorick Edge

Rorick Edge Active Member

Hi Rick,

My apologies if I misunderstand the problem that you’ve run into, but if you’re talking about very slow reaction when turning corners, it’s understood to be an issue. Mark Spencer of Ripple Training talks about the problem from the 09:40 mark in this video: