/dist/images/branding/favicon

Looking for advice on setting up an Alta kit with Alexa Mini for cinema / TV use.

Discussion in 'ALTA' started by James Layton ACO, Aug 1, 2015.

1. James Layton ACO

James Layton ACO New Member

I'm a camera and steadicam operator in film and TV in the UK and I'm trying to find advice regarding getting an Alta setup to use for cinema and TV use with an Alexa mini, focus and iris motors and wheel controllers (i.e. wheels used for stabilised heads on cranes etc). I'm thinking along the lines of:

• Alta
    • Movi (can the M15 be used or is it just for the M10?)
    • Movi controller or wheels from a third party maufacturer with third party focus unit like a Preston etc.
    • Alexa mini with Super Speed lenses
    • FPV unit for pilot - perhaps HUD glasses?
    • Long range transmitter such as Teradek Bolt Pro 2000
    Could anyone recommend which kit I should be looking at as it seems that there are so many accessories required for a full kit and i'm confused! I admit it!

I'm also wondering if there are any parachute systems out there at the moment as the camera and lens would be in excess of £40,000 so this is something I'd have to take very seriously.

Anyone who works in this area who could give me some advice?

Thanks in advance.

2. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

Hi James. The best advice I can give you is to get your feet wet with a much smaller, simpler system like a Phantom. Despite what it looks like in the videos, the ALTA cannot fly itself, and not even a parachute is going to help with most of the problems you can run into. The size of parachute required to successfully recover an ALTA with a full payload would be considerable. I'm not aware of any chutes that'd do that right now.

But the best defense you have against catastrophic events with a small UAV is a lot of practice. Most crashes I've seen, even among experienced operators, are the result of pilot error of some kind.

Good luck.