/dist/images/branding/favicon

Long intro, thanks, some pontification and a few maybe easy questions.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Mike Zintel, Jan 12, 2014.

1. Mike Zintel

Mike Zintel Member

Mike Zintel from WA State USA here. I'm new to RC. I've got about 6 months on an XProHeli (NAZA-M/DX-8), GoPro / GF3, FatShark. Lots of fun, some pulling of the hair out, lots of learning but no photo/video worth posting yet.

My angle, I hope, will be drones + fireworks + video. I'm licensed to work on pro fireworks crews and do so at every opportunity.

I've been a lurker on these forums since deciding a heavier camera was necessary for video. With lots of help from you, I’ve picked a GH3, CS8, 2axis + Radian, MX20, GPS and waypoint flying. I currently have the bird built, spend intimate evenings by the computer with the helpful and charming wizard, Andy Johnson-Laird, and am paying down my MKTool tax.

I've long been fascinated by the impact of upward capability / downward cost of technology in unlocking talent and changing marketplaces. It will be interesting to see the impact that rotors have on photography.

I started diving when the pressure gauge was a cool new thing. And I've been dragging still and video cameras in all manner of commercial and homemade cases under the water since then. For most of that time, thanks to Nikon and Ikelite, near pro quality stills were within grasp of a dedicate amateur with a modest budget. But the video possible with affordable gear was junk. I've tried wave after wave of video tech and never kept anything.