/dist/images/branding/favicon

Just curious: Anyone use both 2 and 3 axis gimbal setups?

Discussion in 'Cinestar Misc' started by Dave King, Jan 22, 2013.

1. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

I think there's plenty of applications where you can fly alone, and also where you need a seperate camera person so I was wondering if there's anyone using both? I was thinking that you could have the Cinestar wired up where you have 2 cables coming off the FCB and you can just plug them in when you want to use the 2 axis gimbal and then have seperate power connectors for the 3 axis gimbal. Anyone use both? Right now I have a 2 axis gimbal but I can see the need for a 3 axis gimble later this summer but I don't want to be limited to flying with a camera guy 24/7.

2. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Dave I think most folks just leave the Mode setting in Mode 1 (no pan activated) and sometimes use cable ties to secure the gimbal from panning.

3. Brad Meier

Brad Meier Active Member
    Staff Member

You can do that.. I don't even use cable ties. The part I'm unsure of is if and how you could get tilt control. I've never tried it...

4. Gary Haynes

Staff Member

Brad, just checked my 2-axis and you are correct that there is no tilt in Mode 1 so maybe the solution would be to disconnect the pan servo wire from the Radian?

5. Brad Meier

Brad Meier Active Member
    Staff Member

So this has got me thinking about my own 3 axis and how I could easily move to a 2 axis without the pan. I'm running spektrum gear right now so I'm not sure if its possible for me to get a signal to the Radians without running a second receiver or satellite paired to the same transmitter..

6. Dave King