/dist/images/branding/favicon

hovering at 65% throthle with my Cinestar?

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Adam Heimer, Aug 6, 2014.

1. Adam Heimer

Adam Heimer New Member

Hello all,
    I've been trying to get a better understanding about weight and flight time with my copter.
    I'm quite new to this game and jumped on a movie production right after I got all my new gear..
    I've obviously already done some testing with my brushless gimbal and a Canon 5D and it went very smooth but Picture wise,, the 5D won't do the job so I need to get the blackmagic 4K up in the air!
    I got a cinestar 8, 500mm booms with 15.5 carbon props, u5 Engines and BL-ctrl 3.0.

According to the:
    [​IMG]

My ideal payload at 12 kg (26lbs) leaves me at 65% throttle; this will include 2 x 10.000 mAh lipos with the rest of my gear.
    Now if 65% throthle is too much I'm concidering to drop one battery to loose 1,4 kg (3,1 lbs) ?? And what would my flight time be?
    I'm very ancious to test this out myself, would be awesome to get some experienced input on this before I make any hasty decisions! :)

Also to Dave King: Thank you for your inputs on getting me in the right directions for building my cinestar! It was very helpful!

cheers,

Adam

Dave King likes this.
  2. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

I would consider dropping to 8000 or 6000 batteries. Depending on how your copter is built, switching from dual to single batteries could present some balancing challenges. Plus, you have to consider your vertical balance, which will change dramatically if you drop 1kg or more off the top of the copter.

Adam Heimer likes this.
  3. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

Can you go to longer booms and bigger props?

Adam Heimer likes this.
  4. Adam Heimer

Adam Heimer New Member