/dist/images/branding/favicon

GoPro Wi Fi Alert

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Jim Swanson, Mar 6, 2013.

1. Jim Swanson

Jim Swanson Member

Last month I crashed my Cinestar 6 while flying the new GoPro 3 Black edition. Minutes earlier we were flying my GH2 with no problems Anyway, I turned on the GoPro wifi to check out the shot on my Android Phone...within a minute or so we lost total control, hit a tree, and my Hexa fell 50 feet to the ground. The MK microsd card popped out and was lost, but having flown rc for 20 years this looked like a classic "frequency hit".

Quadrocopter checked out everything and could not find a problem with PDB, Navi, Flight board, etc.

Turns out Gopro 3 Black Edition uses 2.4 for their wifi according to someone in the Gopro customer service department... 2.4 a/b/c/g to be exact.

I'm no frequency expert, and I realize a lot of us fly on 2.4 at the same time, but this was clearly a radio hit while using the Hero 3. The Hexa jiggled a bit, lost control, then shot strait up like it was going into "coming home"-lost transmission mode. Random for sure...but be aware when flying your $10,000+ Multi-rotor.

Jim

2. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

Hmm. thanks for the post looks like I will be keeping the wireless off when I go flying.

3. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member