/dist/images/branding/favicon

Feeding Nav data direct to Camera

Discussion in 'Camera Mount Misc' started by Chris Fox, May 18, 2013.

1. Chris Fox

Chris Fox Active Member

Hi All,

I'm new to this game, but working on learning!

I'm going to be mounting a Nikon D800 onto my cinestar 8 with 2 axis gimbal, when it arrives, and have been wracking my brain on how the best way would be for geotagging the images (for use when running through orthomosaic processes, or DEM generation).

Now I know that I can do it roughly by synching the camera clock and GPX log file, but since I will be implementing a switch for shutter control on the 10pin connector for the camera, I was wondering if anyone has been able to use the GPS data from the MK GPS and feed that into the 10pin camera connection, in a similar fashion to using a Nikon GPS module which passes the data in via the 10pin connector?

Cheers

Chris

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi Chris:
    I think clock syncing is probably the best way -- although with the Sony CX760, it has an on-board GPS that can geotag the stills it takes. I wonder whether there is a GPS add-on for the Nikon that would do the same.

The GPS data on the MK boards is transmitted in datablocks on the I2C bus between the GPS, flight control, and navigation control boards so you'd need a small board, attached to that bus to intercept the data, isolate it and convert it into Nikon-speak.

Andy.

3. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

4. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

I'll be interested to hear whether the Nikon GPS unit works -- it's going to be mounted under neath the motor leads, the MK Boards and the LiPo -- as well as the flight control Rx/telemetry and any FPV downlink you might have. Not exactly the best place for GPS satellite reception that close to all those sources of radio frequency interference.

Andy.

5. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator