/dist/images/branding/favicon

Epic on the CS 3-axis gimbal

Discussion in '3 Axis Gimbal' started by Josh Kornoff, Dec 1, 2012.

1. Josh Kornoff

Josh Kornoff New Member

I've read with great interest some of the threads about mounting the Epic to the CS gimbal. I have a CS 3-axis gimbal mounted to the bottom of my Skyjib. I am not pleased with the performance of the AV200, so I switched to the Cinestar gimbal.

However, as some have mentioned, the CS gimbal clamps are overpowered by the weight of the Epic.

I think it may be worth my effort to beef up those areas by adding an extra clamp to each of the side arms, and an extra two to the roll arm, for a total of extra 4 clamps.

It's been suggested that adding double sided tape would work, and it certainly would. But those clamps just barely fit over the tubes as it is, not to mention the tape would ball up and become a pain when trying to make CG adjustments.

Does anyone else have suggestions for beefing up the CS Gimbal?

HornetCam-Skyjib-Multirotor-RED-Epic-Cinestar-Gimbal-06.jpg

HornetCam-Skyjib-Multirotor-RED-Epic-Cinestar-Gimbal-07.jpg

2. Tabb Firchau

Tabb Firchau Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi Josh,

Aluminum clamps for the high stress joints the high weight the EPIC induces are on the way. The ALU clamps do not slip at all. With the plastic clamps especially in high heat, they can slip with jolts or shocks (like setting the machine down on the ground)

The forces the back clamps undergo if you have a 'sharp' landing are tremendous. I will post as soon as they are available.

Tabb

3. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

That's awesome news, Tabb. Is it suggested that all the Cinestar clamps be replaced with aluminum ones, or just the high-stress areas? After all, reinforcing one area can effectively weaken another. :)

4. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member