/dist/images/branding/favicon

Connection Tutorial?

Discussion in '2 Axis Gimbal' started by Christopher Simons, Aug 5, 2013.

1. Christopher Simons

Hey everybody. I have a CS8 and a 2-axis gimbal. I have not put the gimbal on the CS8 while I'm getting the hang of it, but I wanted to know if there are any tutorial videos out there, or if anyone here has produced one, on how to hook up the controls? I did do a mock up, so I know how to get it mounted, but I can't seem to find anywhere on actually how to connect up the power and everything. Do I need to get and mount another battery or hardwire it to the distro board? If the latter, where does it get connected? I appreciate any information anyone can part with. Thanks!

Christopher

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

It's somewhat of a personal choice, Christopher. There is an argument for putting a separate 1200 mAH LiPo on the U-frame of the gimbal, partly to balance the weight of the tilt servo assembly and partly so that you don't have too much "stuff" sucking power from the flight battery (with the concomitant risk that some part of that stuff will short out and drag the flight battery voltage down).

You will need to put a Recom/Traco converter on the 1200mAH for 12vDC for the FPV camera if you choose to use one, and a 5V BEC (Battery Eliminator Circuit) at 4A - 5A for the Radians (presuming you're using them) and the servos.

Andy.

3. Christopher Simons