/dist/images/branding/favicon

Buying guide help: What do I need to control and view a Red Epic wirelessly from the Movi Pro?

Discussion in 'MōVI Pro' started by Robert Bahou, Apr 15, 2018.

1. Robert Bahou

Robert Bahou New Member

Hi guys,

I'm investing in a Red Epic MX in a few days and I'd like to get a gimbal for it, obviously the Movi Pro seems THE way to go. I am new to Red and new to Freefly.

Naturally, I got extremely excited about the prospect of having the second operator view, control and move the camera remotely. My question is, what accessories do I need, including cables, receivers, focus motors and all that to get this system fully operational?

I got a little intimidated with all the research I was doing, seeing mentions of Hyperflex Cables, expanders for the red, toads on a stick and whatnot, so I'm reaching out to all of you for some help.

I'd like to note that I'd prefer to keep the system as budget-friendly as possible, without compromising quality.

2. Graham Futerfas

Graham Futerfas Well-Known Member

Hi Robert, here's what I use. It's not cheap! And it takes up a bunch of cases.

If you want to see a dumb video I made about the gear I use in my Movi Pro kit, here's a link:

First you put the camera on the gimbal with your lens.

I use the Freefly 15mm rod adapter with the base plate for the lens motors. I prefer aluminum iris rods instead of carbon fiber, because the motor tends to slip more on carbon fiber. I use 3" and 4" rods for the most part.

I have a an Abracam matte box\filter holder for the lens with different clamp-on ring sizes and the eyebrow.

I power the camera off the Movi Pro with the RED DTap cable from Freefly. I also have 12 Movi Pro batteries with 6 chargers, so plenty of power.