/dist/images/branding/favicon

Battery solutions - tips M5 - help

Discussion in 'Batteries & Power' started by paulo gambale, Dec 4, 2014.

1. paulo gambale

paulo gambale New Member

Hi folks
    I'm running a M5 and going crazy with all batteries.
    - the M5 lipo 4S
    - a switronix pro X (v mount) for a black magic
    - a USB battery for paralinx transmitter
    - a Sony NP or canon for my monitor view
    Please, I'm looking for tips so I could make my system lighter and easier to assemble.

1. as I'm new to it, how should I calculate (maths )voltage/amp in order to find which battery could power all itens, or maybe camera/monitor and paralinx?
    I get lost with all different voltage/amps and I don't want to burn anything.

2. a Lipo could charge at least my my BMCC, paralinx and monitor? which one?
    Can't find any clue!

3. Can I get a generic Lipo to charge my M5 or it must be only the one sold by Freefly?

I'm looking foward for an answer
    Regards
    paulo gambale.

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

You're asking valid questions, Paulo.

The general strategy is to make a list of all the devices and the voltage they need and the amount of current they draw.

e.g.
    Black Magic: Volts = x, Milliamps = y
    Paralinx Transmitter: Volts = p, Milliamps = q
    and so on.

If you can create such a list either I or someone else can walk you through the calculations.

The 4S battery will delivery from 16.8 volts (fully charged) down to about 14.4 volts. It can supply a *lot* of current, but the more current it supplies, the shorter the time it will last.

Can you post the table with the information filled in, please?

Andy

3. paulo gambale

paulo gambale New Member

Thanks for answering Andy.
    Specifications I found at the AC power of each equipment:

Marshall monitor VLCD-50: 5V, 2amp
    Paralinx crossbow (HDMI/SDI): 5V, 2amp
    Paralinx transmitter arrow+: 5V, 2amp
    Blackmagic prod cam4K: 12V, 2,5amp