/dist/images/branding/favicon

Patented: Copter with coaxial motors and contra-rotating props

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Andy Johnson-Laird, Oct 18, 2014.

1. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

As you read this, please bear in mind the phrase: "Don't kill the messenger!"

There is a German patent that was issued back in 2007 where the claimed invention is a multi-rotor copter with a flight control system and that uses co-axial motors where the motors rotate on opposite directions on each boom. This patent was issued under the international patent cooperation treaty ("PCT") and thus was issued in 148 countries. You can see the list here: http://www.wipo.int/pct/en/pct_contracting_states.html

So, were you to talk to attorney (which I am not -- I'm just a forensic software analyst who reads patents and helps figure out what the claimed inventions are), I suspect he or she would tell you that you might be infringing this patent if you are in, say, the USA, and you "make, use, sell, or offer for sale" a multi-rotor copter with a flight controller and with co-axial motors where the motors above the boom spins the other way from the motors below the boom. That "make, use...etc." comes from http://law.onecle.com/uscode/35/271.html

You can download the patent at patents.google.com and enter the patent number 8328128.

I have been told by several attorneys that:

1. The entirety of an invention is in the claims. So read claim 1. The words in claim 1 take their definitions from the sections of the patent before the claims, or from plain English if they're not defined there.

2. To infringe a patent, you must "practice" all parts of a given claim. If you fail to practice just one part, then I think your attorney would probably tell you that you did not infringe the patent.