/dist/images/branding/favicon

Gimbal Techniques

Discussion in 'Movi Technical' started by Darell Sison, Apr 23, 2019.

1. Darell Sison

Darell Sison Member

Hello, looking for some tips and guides on proper techniques on using the MCR. Newbie here so please be gentle with me.

When doing your moves/shots do you use your arm to turn/pan or you use the gimbal response/movement?

Any other tips for smoother moves?

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Re: moves: I find I use a bit of both techniques. You learn to anticipate what the MCR is going to do.

As for smother moves: Walk in a low crouch like Groucho Marx -- practice with a cup of water full to the brim. The MCR only removes motion around an axis, but not along the axis.

Andy

Forensic Software & sUAV / Drone Analyst : Photographer : Videographer : Pilot (Portland, Oregon, USA): Trees=2, Ground=1, Props=11. :(
    The Ground Is The Limit™
    ---------- Forensic Drone Analyst : Forensic sUAV Analyst : Forensic Unmanned Aircraft Analyst : Forensic Drone Expert

Darell Sison likes this.
  3. Pavel Houda

Pavel Houda Member

There are many videos showing gimbal techniques like “the ninja walk” and many others on YouTube. If you search for it, you will definitely find something that is relevant to your filmmaking style and desired effects. Actually FF has a bunch as well.

4. John Chu

John Chu Active Member

My tips and thoughts:

Decide if you want the Movi to be fast and precise or slow and gradual. (or somewhere in between) I've been running it with a slower response time and wider window to smooth things out outdoors and my bad operating technique. (Along with adding stabilization in editing)

Hard footsteps and jolts that get transmitted to the rig can cause nasty rolling shutter distortions in the footage.

Feel liberated and free to hold and grasp the Movi one handed not only by the handle but also on the base or however it feels comfortable.