/dist/images/branding/favicon

Thumbwheel for FIZ that can mount on Movi Ring AND work with MIMIC?

Discussion in 'MōVI Pro' started by Brady Hall, Sep 15, 2018.

1. Brady Hall

Brady Hall New Member

I am a new Movi Pro owner (thank u Freefly for that sale also curse u Freefly for that sale my wallet hurts now) and am wondering if anybody has concocted a one-person-band solution for FIZ control? I see threads on here talking about solutions that involve products that are hard-wired, need their own proprietary power/brain or don't work with MIMIC. Redrock and other companies have motors that plug into the Movi power block and are controlled by MIMIC, but the Bush Pilot wheel is too big to use with a thumb or finger while holding the rig, so I am wondering if there is something out there? Redrock makes this sweet little fingerwheel, I wonder if that can be connected to the MIMIC in place of Bush Pilot with an existing cable or a custom one? Anybody have any thoughts or experience with this?

2. Brady Hall

Brady Hall New Member

I am still sleuthing, and feel like the missing link that makes it all come together is a cable that goes from the MIMIC com port into the 3-pin Lemo on the Redrock fingerwheel. I have emails out to Freefly and Redrock to see if they can provide wiring diagrams.

3. Graham Futerfas

Graham Futerfas Well-Known Member

I saw Stephan Knight liked this PD Movie Remote Live 2 from Ikan for follow focus. Here's a video he made about it:

I'm loathe to do everything myself, but I'm fortunate to be able to demand Productions hire an AC to help me, or I just don't want the job. Not only to help me with Focus, but there are so many components to my Movi rig, like batteries, accessories, etc., that I just don't want to do it all myself. And it's hard to move through spaces without help sometimes, like going through doors or people.

Maybe I'm just old and cranky. ;)

4. Brady Hall

Brady Hall New Member