/dist/images/branding/favicon

Best Sound Setup for Short Film w/Movi Freefly on a budget

Discussion in 'Movi Technical' started by Larry V Santana, Jul 2, 2018.

1. Larry V Santana

Larry V Santana New Member

Hello Everyone,

Brand new to this forum. (Just had my account approved minutes ago).

I'm a filmmaker shooting a low budget short with no crew and a small group of actors. I'm a writer first and foremost, and I'm shooting the film myself, purely out of necessity.

Just received my Movi Freefly today. I have a basic lighting kit, tripod, and Moment lenses to shoot with, using my iPhone 8 Plus. I currently have one Sennheiser lav mic. The ClipMic digital, left over from a previous project. Obviously, I'll need more sound equipment. Which audio setup would you recommend (without blowing a shoestring budget)?

Was thinking I'd purchase the hoodie accessory to mount an external mic, like the TAKSTAR SGC-598. It appears to be deceptively good in spite of its extremely low price.
    [​IMG]
    In addition, I'd use a sound recorder and a shotgun mic on a boom to record ambient sound and dialogue.

OR would you recommend I forego the hoodie altogether, using the gimbal strictly to capture footage and syncing up the audio later in post?

Thanks so much, in advance. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Best,
    Larry

2. Rorick Edge

Rorick Edge Active Member

A quick search will reveal three or four recent threads on sound recording that between them pretty much exhaust the subject.

In your place, my preferred option would be to identify someone who wants to participate in making the film, who is into sound recording and who has his/her own gear. Recording the sound is just one part of this exercise. The other is cleaning it up, editing it and mixing it. You’ll save yourself a lot of time and hassle by bringing in someone who knows what he’s doing. If he has a copy of iZotope RX, all the better.