/dist/images/branding/favicon

Considerations for Monitor Placement

Discussion in 'MōVI M5' started by Ben Gibb, Sep 27, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Ben Gibb

Ben Gibb New Member

Hello!

I'm new to the MoVI system so I apologize if this is a painfully stupid question but will mounting a monitor or recorder on the crossbar of my M5 cause any issues in terms of weight distribution or require any special attention to tuning and balancing the unit? I was planning on mounting the 7" Ninja Flame which weighs 2-2.5lbs with storage and want to make sure I'm not overlooking any adjustments I may need to make.

Thanks.

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Ben: Firstly it is not a "stupid question" (at least not in my opinion) -- it's a perfectly valid one.

Anything mounted on the cross bar will increase the "mass at rest" of the M5 and alter the way that the M5 resonates to naturally occurring vibrations. So, for example, if you were to hold the M5 cross bar with the grips at each end, you'd find that the M5 resonates (and needs to be tuned) differently from holding it with just the center handle.

But the good news is that if you mounted the monitor where you want it, just hold the M5 the way you intend to use it and autotune as described in the manual. Then the autotuning will factor in the resonance of the unit as a whole, including the monitor.

Hope that helps -- and if anyone has a better (or even contradictory) explanation, please post!
    Andy

Forensic Software & sUAV / Drone Analyst : Photographer : Videographer : Pilot (Portland, Oregon, USA): Trees=2, Ground=1, Props=11. :(
    The Ground Is The Limit™
    ---------- Forensic Drone Analyst : Forensic sUAV Analyst : Forensic Unmanned Aircraft Analyst : Forensic Drone Expert

3. Graham Futerfas

Graham Futerfas Well-Known Member

Hi Ben, you're in the right place -- Movi people love to talk about their gear!