/dist/images/branding/favicon

Training

Discussion in 'ALTA' started by Scott Sievertsen, Feb 25, 2016.

1. Scott Sievertsen

Scott Sievertsen New Member

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to aerial and unfortunately, I need to get up to speed really quickly. Is there anybody on site that offers intensive flight training? If not, love any opinion on what is the best way to go about what appears to be a monumental challenge? Appreciate any feedback beyond 'you're totally scr*wed', as that isn't really an option for me. Thanks!

2. alex ryan

alex ryan Member

My advice would be to buy a cheap small drone with no gps or automated stabilizing and fly it as much as possible doing figure 8s, nose in flying and sideways flying. Practice forward flight circuits incorporating 45 degree climbs and recents. Also get aerosim rc (a simulator) and get as much flight time on that as possible. This would be a good way to start.

3. alex ryan

alex ryan Member

Also if you don't have experience with lipo batteries read all you can find about how to care for them.

Humberto Barchini likes this.
  4. Scott Sievertsen

Thanks Alex. I actually do have quite a bit of experience w/ Lipo batts. It's the flying thing that's freaking me out. And putting up expensive gear, insurance be damned.

5. Adam Orens

Adam Orens Member

Where are you located?

6. Scott Sievertsen

Hi Adam - I'm located in Nashville, but I travel any and everywhere these days.

7. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Try the folks at Quadrocopter.com.

Humberto Barchini likes this.
  8. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Talk to the folks at Quadrocopter about purchasing a copy of AeroSimRC -- it's a software simulator that has a flight-realistic model of a Cinestar 8 -- that's the closest thing to an ALTA. The real point is that you need to fly a simulator using the actual radio controller you'd use to fly the real aircraft.