/dist/images/branding/favicon

A "bouncy" operating problem

Discussion in 'MōVI M15' started by Peter Sandler, Feb 24, 2016.

1. Peter Sandler

Peter Sandler New Member

Hey guys. Had M15 rigged with Alexa Mini and some primes (nothing real heavy, some superspeeds and Pancros). I am new to the gimbal game - so pardon me if the question is stupid. I balanced it correctly, it seemes, but had an issue that I really really can see every step I make, not as smooth as I saw from some videos on Vimeo or some tests online. Is that normal? I understand that's the motion that Movi can't really compensate more or less, but does this footage look ok?.. Thanks!

The test: https://vimeo.com/156607823/25242a5c90

2. Brad Meier

Brad Meier Active Member
    Staff Member

Your tilt stiffness could be higher from the looks of the tilt movement. Whats your setting? You should be able to get 100 or more on that setup.

3. Peter Sandler

Peter Sandler New Member

Thanks for the advice! I will check tomorrow when I'm back in the rental. If I'm correct, it was about 80. So tilt stiffness is what should hold in place that particular movement?

4. Peter Sandler

Peter Sandler New Member

Also I struggled to understand the Tilt Axis balancing a bit - as it had full cage )no top plate on that Mini, though). Do I leave the bottom of the cage in the lowest possible position, or do I shift everything sort of towards the middle and then balance it on the middle of the tube, not touching the outer toggles (ones holding bottom and top of the cage?)?

5. Brett Harrison

Brett Harrison Active Member

There's definitely a shift in vertical perspective going on.

There's more to it than this, but practice with a glass of water. Once you can move around your house without it moving around too much, you will have gained the muscle memory skill needed to move a gimbal through space in a straight line. The 'ninja walk'.