/dist/images/branding/favicon

Spinning ALTA

Discussion in 'MōVI M5' started by Cesar Fernandez, Dec 19, 2015.

1. Cesar Fernandez

I am just learning the operation of my brand new ALTA and MOVI M5. A two day training in California was not long enough to cover all the operational and set ups for the system (keep in mind that I am a wildlife photographer and a doctor by profession and this is all new to me).
    With the Movi installed in the ALTA, when I turn the transmitter and the Movi on, after balancing it, the ALTA starts spinning around and I have to turn of MOVI off or the Switch on the transmitter off to stop the spinning around on the drone.
    What I am doing wrong?
    Thanks for any advice.
    Cesar

Sergi Medina likes this.
  2. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

Welcome to the world of the MōVI! This is a common problem. The best way around it is to either use "airborne" mode and place the MōVI in "lock" mode, or if you prefer to fly in "handheld" mode (which I do all the time), leave the MōVI powered on but in "kill" mode until you start the copter, after which the copter's motors will hold it in place.

But others may have other techniques.

Bottom line: you're not doing anything wrong. You're just not doing everything. :)

3. Cesar Fernandez

Thank you Steve, you have been a lifesaver!! :D

4. Matt Beardsley

Good question, Cesar, definitely a tricky point of the Alta vs. rigs with retracts attached to the platform and not the gimbal. What are folks doing to use Mimic with Alta? I have the whole rig hanging from a big boom stand in the studio right now, great for Mimic and getting the camera rig tuned up, but no way to fly :) ...definitely spins on the ground since Mimic doesn't have a mode or kill switch that I know of..