/dist/images/branding/favicon

Restrictions

Discussion in 'ALTA' started by Rory Hinds, Sep 28, 2015.

1. Rory Hinds

Rory Hinds Member

Please can Freefly have the option for the pilot to remove the Height Max Ceiling restriction and the Position Range restriction.

Its nice having them there as an option and the pilot should be able to turn them off completely if desired so we can fly without restrictions.

Justin Marx likes this.
  2. Chris Jordan

Chris Jordan Member

That's like asking the country to please do away with speed limits. They are for our protection, and the pilots (I'm a pilot) in the air. They also adhere to the current regulations. :)

3. Rory Hinds

Rory Hinds Member

Hardly Chris. I'm a professional drone pilot and some times get clients who want to fly higher and further and Transport Canada give me approval so I should be able to use my professional drone to get the shot I need and not be restricted.

Sure have a warning that comes up and you have to click okay but don't cripple the machine because some people don't know what they are doing.

Justin Marx likes this.
  4. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Rory: Does it help any that you can exceed these limits in Manual mode? (See page 62/63 of the Rev. B manual.)

I've not tried it, but I wonder what happens if you use Manual mode to exceed these limits and then enable Position or Altitude Hold. I'd be quite surprised if that forces the ALTA to descend or fly towards home. What's more likely is that you cannot engage PH or AH.
    I'll see if I can test this in the next day or so.

Andy.

Chris Jordan likes this.
  5. Justin Marx

Justin Marx Active Member

We have speed limits, but your car still goes 140mph. It's up to the operator to follow whatever law they are governed by.

Chris Jordan likes this.
  6. Chris Jordan

Chris Jordan Member

True. :)

7. Aj White

Aj White Member