/dist/images/branding/favicon

Gimbal suggestions?

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Dan Coplan, Jun 20, 2015.

1. Dan Coplan

Dan Coplan Member

I've been flying a CS8 for a couple years now with a 2-axis gimbal from brushlessgimbals.com. Time to upgrade!

My 'perfect world' goals are: minimum fuss (i.e. auto tune for different cameras), inexpensive as possible while maintaining quality (cheap breaks the first goal if I spend half my time just trying to get the thing to work), lightweight as possible. I'm targeting the DSLR range so let's say Sony A7 to 5D Mark III.

My current awareness:

- Zenmuse awesome but one camera/one lens = too limiting
    - Movi M5 = too damn expensive
    - Ronin M = maybe but on the heavy side
    - Defy? CAME? Something else I don't know about that is a great solution (and why I'm posting this)?

Ideally I want never to have to program PID values again! And need easy mating to the octo.

Dan

2. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Dan that's simple. MoVI M5. You ruled out the other three. Toad in the Hole quick release and you are all set. Ask Josh Lambeth about his experience going from Alexmos to the MoVI. Better yet ask his camera operator. Add in the bundle price, the MIMIC and your won't be limiting your operations.

3. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

+1 for what Gary says!
    Andy.

4. Gary McCready

Gary McCready Active Member

If you plan on a heavier camera like the Mark III or the A7 I think I'd just get a M5, and save yourself a lot of trouble.
    If you are planning on only flying a 4/3 ....I've had pretty good results from my RCtimer Legacy, and a Phobotic CP. Less than $1000, and Auto tune works pretty well. If I was buying a gimbal for a 4/3 mirrorless now I'd get the Famous Hobby BG001-Pro, and use the CP. It is not an M5, but it 1/3 the price.