/dist/images/branding/favicon

Looking for a monitor for my Movi..what would you choose?

Discussion in 'MōVI M10' started by Adam Brennan, Dec 30, 2014.

1. Adam Brennan

Adam Brennan Member

I am curious to get opinions on what monitor would you get? Odyssey? Atomos or smallHD? I am thinking the first two due to external recording. I am new to this, so thoughts and reasoning would be nice to hear. I budget about $2K for one.

2. Kurt Wallrath

Kurt Wallrath Member

Hi Adam,

Are you looking for a cost effective and light monitor? Then the answer is the SmallHD.

If you have a camera like a GH4 or Sony FS700 that would benefit from a Atomos or Odyssey then those are great options also but are pricey.

Personally, I use a TV Logic 5.6. It has HD-SDI, HDMI inputs as well as HDMI loop through to HD-SDI.

You may consider the SmallHD and use the money you save towards a Paralinx if you don't have one.

3. Adam Brennan

Adam Brennan Member

Thanks Kurt, those are some good points. I think for the time being I am going to get a BlackMagic Cinema Camera until I see what comes out in the spring. I just bought Redrock Micro Wireless focus system. I do need to get a paralinks sooner or later. I think one of the things I am looking for is accurate color/exposure and being able to see the focus plane.

4. Michael Luntzel

Michael Luntzel New Member

5.6 TV logic or 5.5 TV logic

5. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

I use SmallHD DP4's.

Andy.

6. Michael Luntzel

Michael Luntzel New Member

or you could go with the SmallHD AC7 a little bigger but a good monitor

7. Nicolas T

Nicolas T Member