/dist/images/branding/favicon

Pan drift

Discussion in 'MōVI M5' started by Steve Townsend, Jan 4, 2015.

1. Steve Townsend

Steve Townsend New Member

Hi

I'm new to the M5 but I have noticed a very slight but significant drifting of the pan. I wondered if there is anything I can do to adjust this. I'm pretty sure the whole set up is well balanced. Tried with a lighter load (GH4) and heavier (5D with heavy Zeiss lens). Thanks Steve

2. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Are you using with or without the remote?

3. Steve Townsend

Hi Gary, without a remote.

4. Dustin Poteet

Dustin Poteet New Member

Hey Steve,

Regarding your pan drifting problem in Majestic Mode, I have found that turning down your smoothing settings for pan in the Freefly GUI will solve the problem immediately. Thats assuming your talking about drifting at the end of a move. If your talking about drifting while trying to hold it steady, your pan window may be to small.

Hope that helps!

5. Steve Townsend

Hi Dustin, thanks for your input but if I can explain maybe what I am asking is unreasonable. I am experimenting and trying to do a short time-lapse with the Movi, probably only five minutes long. I am trying to create a hyper lapse and require the Movi to remain pointing in the same direction whilst I move laterally for a total of five minutes. It is pretty good in all axes but I experience about a 10 degree pan shift in about four and five minutes. I have experimented with the smoothing and the window but it doesn't seem to make much difference.

6. Dustin Poteet

Dustin Poteet New Member