/dist/images/branding/favicon

GH4 vs 5D

Discussion in 'Cameras' started by Dean Roczen, Oct 8, 2014.

1. Dean Roczen

Dean Roczen New Member

Greetings,

Im a single operator slowly getting started... Ive had my C8 for a while now but am finally flying it frequently between all my other responsibilities.

My question is this, I have a Canon 5D which I do like a lot, but Ive also been investigating the much more affordable GH4. Im currently using a 2-axis gimbal (I know.. gettin obsolete) and Im thinking that if I set myself forward with a GH4 platform then when I DO decide to leave the 2-axis behins I could pick up a MOVI5 maybe next spring. If I move forward with the 5D then I'd be looking at a bigger and more epxensive MOVI rig.

Its easy to compare the specs etc.. and I am doing that. But Im early enough along with this venture where I could still choose one platform or another... or both perhaps, Im curious what others here are doing. I guess I could ask for those who are flying 5D's... what is it about that camera that REQUIRES its use?? etc.. etc..

I own a 5D now, but I could sell mine to my sister (a wedding photographer ready to move into the full frame arena) and purchase a GH4.

Any thoughts? Thanks!!!

DeanR

2. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

Which 5D do you have? I use the 5D Mark III and the GH4, and they're kinda apples vs. oranges. The GH4 offers a bit more in the way of video capabilities, but the 5D is a more complete system (many lenses, etc.) and is far better for stills IMHO. So your best bet is to evaluate your needs. And both work wonderfully well on a M5. That's what I use.

3. Jeff Scholl

Jeff Scholl Distributor

The things that bug me about my GH4 over my mk3 is
    - no composite out
    - moire patterns noticed in roof shingles at 1080
    - noise at low light (but this shouldn't be a factor in most flying applications)

I've been looking forward to a new 5dmk4 :)

Jeff

4. Andy Johnson-Laird