/dist/images/branding/favicon

filming in canada

Discussion in 'Cinestar Misc' started by Laurence Hamilton-Baillie, Dec 6, 2013.

1. Graydon Tranquilla

Murray, I was quite surprised to see there is now a need for the MR pilot to also become licensed to use a VHF Air band transceiver. As a licensed HAM operator, I already am able to listen in on all air band frequencies but am not licensed to transmit on these frequencies. I also read somewhere that the SFOC currently in use was last updated in 2008. It remains a one size fit all system....probably developed in alignment with ING Engineering which is now ING Engineering is Renamed ING Robotic Aviation.

2. Patrick Thompson

P Thompson-2013.jpg @OP Lawrence, not sure if you received my 2nd on correspondence re Arctic filming, but I wanted to wish you luck with the effort. I know you've committed to getting an SFOC, and I applaud your efforts, as I'm sure the rest of the Canadian Operators do.

Today, after spending 12 hours in -24c and 35km/hr winds, I don't envy your assignment…..;).

Things that made life easier today:

Hot pockets. In every pocket.
    9V battery powered socks as pre-heaters on the lipos, which were kept at 80f prior to flight.
    Batts wrapped in neoprene beer bottle sleeves, as insulation during flight- this is an awesome solution as compared to styro boxes.
    Marmot mountaineer guide gloves, with the first two fingers & thumbs cut off. Perfect; and good transmitter grip.
    Two spare thermoses of coffee beside the ground station, to keep the client from leaving set to warm up.
    A designated assistant hired, to keep the dozen sets of batteries charged, hot & ready, including TX, VTX & VRX batteries.

Fortunately, the product we shot was an industrial solar power trailer for the military, so there was plenty of field power available.

Best of luck on your shoot.

3. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member