/dist/images/branding/favicon

Multiple Screen Setup

Discussion in 'MōVI M5' started by Jason Battista, Apr 28, 2014.

1. Jason Battista

Jason Battista New Member

Hi all !

Newbie here, I'm about to purchase a Movi M5 for use in Adelaide, Australia.

I'm looking to have a screen mounted on the unit itself and another screen either with the remote operator or for a director to watch when in Majestic Mode. Is there a particular setup anyone can suggest for the Movi M5 if I'm utilising a camera such as the Canon 5D Mark III with HDMI out.

Should I buy the package with the remote and SmallHD DP4, then utilising the passthru HDMI on the SmallHD to run a signal into a Paralinx Arrow transmitter? I assume its ok to have a HDMI cable running from the camera to the SmallHD mounted on the top rail, then the transmitter also mounted on the top rail (as to avoid any issues with restricting camera movement with weight or cables). This approach avoids having to purchase two receivers, if say, I had a screen on the top rail receiving a wireless signal. Interested in hear members thoughts on the lightest, most functional and cost effective approach to this!

Think live event / small productions / lower budget commercial jobs...

2. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Jason your setup as described is pretty common. Just make sure you get one of the very flexible, thin HDMI cables. The ones from HyperThin work really well.

3. Jason Battista

Thanks Gary. I thought it would be a relatively common setup; just wanted to ensure there isn't any obvious errors with the setup I'm looking to purchase.

Follow up question; does Freefly recommend a specific cradle for the Radio Transmitter and a screen that works well in that cradle? Intended for an operator to comfortably view image and control movement; I've seen a number of people with this type of setup but can't seem to find specifics. Thanks!

4. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member