/dist/images/branding/favicon

NEW U7 motor tmotor

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by kjetil tønnesen, Nov 22, 2013.

1. Bryan Harvey

Bryan Harvey Member

Ahhh, so you think 18" will make those motors work too hard? I would not have guessed that, but I'm not experienced in this area.
    One minute is quite a nice improvement in my opinion, but of course I don't want to stress the motors. I am using 6s by the way.

2. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

Bryan,
    You may know this already, but there is a definite “sweet spot” for these motors when it comes to their thrust curve. I’m quite amazed at the diligence of Tiger for publishing those awesome tables listing their motors’ characteristics at different throttle levels. If you look, the curves are dramatically different with some prop combinations.

And one thing to consider when it comes to multirotors is that you almost certainly someday will lose a prop or a ESC, and when that happens, you better not be at 80-90% throttle. If you are, your copter’s not going to be able to stay in the air. The flight controllers (at least my MK did this) will compensate properly for the loss of 1/8 motors, but only if there’s enough overhead to do so. Ask me how I know this (my experience ended well). :eek:

Bryan Harvey likes this.
  3. Bryan Harvey

Bryan Harvey Member

Hey Steve,
    Yes I looked at those charts, but to me it just looks like subtle differences between prop sizes. I guess I don't know enough about the scale to note what is significant, what numbers would indicate cause for concern, etc...

4. Chris Fox

Chris Fox Active Member

I'm happy with it ... a lots less fuss than the MK .... after doing the installation, you are left wondering what you have done wrong because it was that simple ..... and it flies well.

5. Zubeyir Mentese

Zubeyir Mentese New Member

Hi guys,