/dist/images/branding/favicon

Single Radian on roll axis

Discussion in 'Radian' started by fireflydigital, Oct 15, 2012.

1. fireflydigital

fireflydigital New Member

Hey,

I am very new to the Cinestar and RC in general so please excuse my ignorance. I have the 2 axis gimble and am trying to attach the Radian to the Roll axis only (I have a Sony camera attached that handles the tilt stability very well so I thought I would save myself a few hundred dollars and just deal with the roll at this time).

My question is, can I attach the radian directly to the power lead that the roll servo was attached to and can I also access receiver control as the servo was controlled through that cable previously? Or do I have to use a separate satellite receiver (Im using a Spektrum DX8 controller)?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Can you tell me from where you're receiver is getting power, please? The FF servos can pull 1.5 Amps or more, so the question really is, will the connection to the receiver provide sufficient power to the roll Radian and it's servo.

If there's enough power available, you can certainly connect a servo cable that provides power and slew control signal for roll from the primary Spektrum receiver to the Radian port 1, and then from port 4 on the Radian on to the roll servo.

From what Tabb posted here, you should not use Port 1 on the roll Radian if all you're providing is power to the Radian and servo and have a Spektrum satellite receiver plugged into the mini-Molex connector on the underside of the Radian. Use some other port. All the Radian ports have their power and grounds connected together.

Thanks
    Andy.

3. fireflydigital

Hi Andy,