/dist/images/branding/favicon

New CineStar8 - First Flights

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Steve Abrams, Sep 19, 2013.

1. Steve Abrams

Steve Abrams New Member

Hey folks,
    I am new to Cinestar8, and new to this forum. I just finished the build (with Andy's help) with MK Flight Controller and ACC upgrade with the latest firmware, and we took our maiden flight this morning. GPS is working fine, but I am having an issue with Altitude Hold. If I move the throttle above a certain point, the machine surges upward for a few feet, stops, surges upward again, stops, and so on. When I move the throttle below a certain point, the machine descends normally. I have the Altitude Hold set to Switch 2 on the Graupner MX20, as per Andy's instructions. All other switches are set to Andy's DVD instructions.
    Any thoughts or observations would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks, Steve

2. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Steve welcome to the forum. Would you be kind enough to change your user name to your real first name and last name, please? The reasons for this (and how to do do it) are explained here: http://forum.freeflysystems.com/index.php?threads/real-names.497/.

I am attaching a screen shot of my altitude setup. I have the throttle setup with the centering spring. The alternative is no spring. So my settings have the stick neutral point at 127. When I turn on AH I can let the stick come up or down to center and the spring holds it there. If you aren't using the spring then the setting value would be 0 and when you turn on AH it should hold altitude based on the current stick position. Move the stick up on either setting the copter will climb. Release the stick (Back to center or just stop moving it) and it should hold altitude.

If you are getting variation as you describe did you put a piece of foam over the AH sensor hole on the FC board? See this link http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/heightsensor

3. Steve Abrams