/dist/images/branding/favicon

15+ DR on New Dragon Sensor?!?

Discussion in 'Cameras' started by Josh Lambeth, Jan 5, 2013.

1. Josh Lambeth

Josh Lambeth Well-Known Member

2. Mark Melville

Mark Melville Member

Sometimes there can be to much DR. There's times you want things to go black. Then again I guess in the new world order you just crush the blacks.

3. Joshua Barker

Joshua Barker New Member

OK, beginner question, I read this article and I see the large spectrum of light that this Dragon sensor can track but I am new to cameras and I do not understand the benefit of this new sensor? Care to dumb it down for the laymen?

4. Tim Joy

Tim Joy Active Member

It's the difference between light and dark. Lesser cameras can only properly expose a small range of light and dark at the same time, and when you see an auto exposure change if you point at the sun, versus point at some dark trees, for instance, it's only necessary because the camera can't handle the wide contrast.
    The high dynamic range gives you the ability to see detail in the shadows without blowing out the highlights.

There NO SUCH thing as TOO MUCH dynamic range, Mark! Shame on you.** :)
    For aerials it is really helpful to have a wide DR, especially sunset shots where you want to keep detail in the sky and see something on the ground.

**edited to add- Not while shooting. In post and for finishing is a different story. You don't always want to see everything, but it's nice to have the flexibility.

5. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member