/dist/images/branding/favicon

Newbie here so be gentle!

Discussion in 'ALTA' started by Lindsay McSwain, Dec 26, 2015.

1. Lindsay McSwain

Lindsay McSwain New Member

I looked around for RULING from FAA and threads here about the new regulations. I am a Real Estate Agent and Photographer which I am looking into areial footage and virtual tours of listings in my area. Long story short what are the Rules of flying commercial. I know they have to be registered now but if what I am reading is correct you have to have a pilots license now or soon to operate. I don't want to spend this money and have to jump hoops every time I have a project. I read something on 120 days prior to flight. I just need the basics answered so I can make an informed decision to invest in the Alta or just stay grounded. I have looked at the FAA website and its a little all over the place and not very clear to me. Thanks in advance.

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Welcome to the forum, Lindsay.
    Your best bet is to use a Google search of the form:
    site:faa.gov sUAS​
    or​
    site:faa.gov unmanned​

The "site:faa.gov" limits the search to faa.gov.

You will find all the information you need, and straight from the horse's mouth.

The short answer is yes: you need to get a Section 333 Exemption from certain Federal Aviation Regulations and yes, you need a current pilot's license, class III medical, and Certificates of Authorization to fly.

Also search for: Douglas Trudeau
    He was the first realtor to get a Section 333 Exemption although at the time he did not have a pilot's license.

Andy.

Lindsay McSwain likes this.
  3. Lindsay McSwain

Thank you Andy! Very helpful information. Hope to be flying sometime next year now.

4. Adam Orens

Adam Orens Member

It has been a tough haul with the FAA rules. :oops: Here is the down low based on our experiences.