/dist/images/branding/favicon

Motor hot and smoking

Discussion in 'MōVI M5' started by Pradeep Sen, Oct 4, 2015.

1. Pradeep Sen

Pradeep Sen New Member

Hi there,

I am fairly new to the Movi M5 and have used it for some small projects. I tried to use it today with a Canon 5D and a 35mm lens and after calibrating for the weight I turned it on.

The camera all of a sudden pointed up at a 20 degree angle and got really stiff tilt-wise, and within seconds the tilt motor started to smoke. It got very hot, I accidentally touched it when turning off the Movi and burned myself on the arm.

This behavior hardly seems normal. What went wrong? Is my Movi ruined?

Thanks!

PS. Sorry, in the title I accidentally said "Battery hot and smoking". I meant to say "Motor hot and smoking", the battery is fine.

2. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

Pradeep you need to contact Freefly. Send an email to support@freeflysystems.com. Take photos of the MoVI as setup, closeups of the motor that got hot. Something is very wrong.

3. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

I've changed the thread title in case other forum members search for this in future.

Was the tilt motor stiff to rotate after you powered the M5 off?

Please post again once you get more information on this issue.
    Andy.

4. Pradeep Sen

Pradeep Sen New Member

Thank you very much for your prompt replies. I will post a video of this problem when I get a chance. I was just a bit scared to turn the Movi on in case this was bad for the motors. To answer the second question, once I turned off the M5 the tilt motor relaxed and I could move the camera up and down with ease.

Thanks in advance for your help.

5. Andy Johnson-Laird

Staff Member