/dist/images/branding/favicon

Competition for the ALTA XL?

Discussion in 'ALTA' started by Steve Maller, Sep 3, 2015.

1. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

2. Steve Maller

And it flies, too. :eek:

3. Ozkan Erden

Ozkan Erden Distributor

I don't think it's a heavy lift machine. The motors look like Tiger U8'ish; which are energy efficient and can work with BL Ctrl 3.0 with 6S Lipo. They draw very little amps but the thrust generated even with 29" props are at 4014 class.

I hope I'm wrong and again I hope they come up with a newer and more capable BL Ctrl which can handle big size motors.

Howard Dapp likes this.
  4. Howard Dapp

Howard Dapp Active Member

Well said! I've been flying MK since 2007 and haven't flown their BL since 2008! They're just too sensitive and sometimes unpredictable!

MIke Magee likes this.
  5. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

A veritable Großmutter. It sounds faintly like a Convair Peacemaker.

Andy

6. Jason Smoker

Jason Smoker Active Member

now how to transport that beast??

7. Steve Maller

There are photos on his page showing the arms detaching. Otherwise, you'd need a flatbed truck.

8. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

And avoid doorways.

Andy.

9. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

I can see it now........Honey there's a UFO flying outside our house!!!

Holger just doesn't get it. I don't know any other way to put it. He's going this route because the U8 style motors are the only thing reliable enough for his existing power boards. Here's an idea, lets make some real ESC's, a better GPS and a flight control board that's equipped with technology beyond an ATARI 2600.

10. Andrew Griffiths

11. Steve Maller

12. Andrew Griffiths