/dist/images/branding/favicon

Tablet Requirements

Discussion in 'Software Solutions' started by dave5mith, Feb 5, 2015.

1. dave5mith

dave5mith New Member

So we picked up a M5 his year and realized how cumbersome taking a laptop out on shoots was. Being an all Apple shop I picked up a cheap Android tablet from Amazon. It's running Android 4.4.3 and has bluetooth but Google Play says the Freefly Configurator App is incompatible with my device. I'm new to Android. Can someone help me figure out what I'm missing or how to get this installed.

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

I seem to recall that the screen size had to be 7" or more? But you may need to open up a support ticket by emailing support@freeflysystems.com.

Andy.

3. dave5mith

dave5mith New Member

4. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member

The one constant in tablets that work sees to be the Google Nexus tablets. There are so many variations on Android tablets that some work and some don't.

5. Andy Johnson-Laird

Staff Member

What I am about to write is a standard response from those in the software industry and is also singularly unhelpful but true: "It should work." Sigh.

I don't think I know exactly what the parametric requirements are for the app to work correctly beyond what Gary says.

Andy.

6. Rod Hartzog

Rod Hartzog Member

Save yourself the hassle of wondering why "this tablet or that tablet; this laptop or that laptop works or doesn't work".... The 7" Nexus works perfectly and fits in your pocket. I got one for 159.00.

Scott Montague and Bryan Edmonds like this.
  7. dave5mith

dave5mith New Member

Sorry for the late update. Freefly responded and said you can download the movi firmware update from their site. In there is an .apk file that you can transfer via USB to the device and install it. I had to google how to side load a file. But it's now working.