/dist/images/branding/favicon

Bad crash with Cinestar/Mikrokopter and Graupner MX20 combo

Discussion in 'Cinestar 8' started by Tim Sessler, Sep 28, 2014.

1. Dave King

Dave King Well-Known Member

Yes. Holgers response at that time was that the come home altitude (50 meters) but like I mentioned above I find that having that kind of CH altitude is necessary to clear tall trees for safety reasons. Here's the old thread that talks about what I tested and Gary's input.
    http://forum.freeflysystems.com/ind...-0-91-as-of-14-06-2013.1674/page-2#post-21421

It's my opinion that the emergency landing procedures are not setup correctly in the software for heavy payloads.

2. Holger Göhr

Holger Göhr New Member

I work as a Firefighter.
    Our current standing orders are to extinguish LiPo fire with water or co2.
    Reason for that is what is called 'thermal runaway'.
    To make it short, water and co2 are cooling which is the most important thing to stop the next cell from blowing up.
    Sand would work to isolate the fire, but you'll need a lot (several buckets) and you wouldn't stop the runaway.
    D class is definitely not required as the lithium content is too low.
    ABC is ok, but can be corrosive and gets into the slightest crack and will render all your motors and electronics useless.
    Same applies to water (the useless part).
    People are always scared of putting water on as it could create a shortcut, but the shortcut is what made the battery blow up in the first place and stopping the runaway is the important thing.
    So CO2 it is for me.
    Will extinguish the fire,allows you to 'ice' the battery (cool it) but will evaporate and not create any secondary damage.
    I know there is a lot of discussion about this, but this is what we learned in a specific training session and is in line with our current standing orders.
    Just my two cents.

3. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor