/dist/images/branding/favicon

FAA Regulations

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Charlie Cushing, Jan 22, 2014.

1. Charlie Cushing

I'm looking for specifics about how people are able to navigate the current FAA Regulations for someone flying a helicopter commercially?

I understand the regulations for RC aircraft as I've been a pilot for 20 years. However the regulations for commercial aircraft basically make it illegal to fly.

I've heard of some people giving their flying service for FREE and then charging for their edited footage, sounds like a loophole, but does it work?

There are obviously many of you doing it commercially, any suggestions on how do this and navigate the current FAA rules would be greatly appreciated. The FAA has even admitted they won't be ready by 2015? Thank you for any help.

2. Howard Dapp

Howard Dapp Active Member

Charlie, I think you might have the wrong forum. All the members here are law abiding citizens just having some good ol' fun flying hobbyist toy copters.

I do think it's pretty amazing that you've been piloting aircraft since the age of 8. Explain to us how you managed to get around the age requirement.

image.jpg

3. Charlie Cushing

There is no age requirement by the FAA or AMA.

4. Steve Maller

Steve Maller UAV Grief Counselor

Howard’s implication up above is that in the USA there’s no safe and recommended way to operate a UAV commercially. Which is not to say that nobody’s doing it. It’s just that those who do so and fail to keep a low profile are being singled out by the FAA with cease and desist letters. So should you decide to pursue that avenue (and you should not), you’re on your own.

And nobody in their right mind is going to be posting here (publicly searchable forum!) about their commercial exploits.

Charlie Cushing likes this.
  5. Gary Haynes

Gary Haynes Administrator
    Staff Member