/dist/images/branding/favicon

trimming the C6

Discussion in 'Cinestar 6' started by steve bourne, Oct 16, 2012.

1. steve bourne

steve bourne New Member

I am new to this game. I have just finished the build on a Cinestar 6 and had some problems initiating the communications between the controller and the C6. But Andy came to my rescue. I can take off but I have a lot of right roll into it to stabilize the hover. I can actually here and see the props are at different speeds on the ground. What would one do to correct the excessive roll? I have a Graupner mx12. thanx, steveB

2. Andy Johnson-Laird

Andy Johnson-Laird Administrator
    Staff Member

Welcome to the forum, Steve.

Did you perform an ACC (3-axis accelerometer) calibration with the hub completely horizontal? If not you need to do that -- it's that calibration that tells the Flight Control board what "level" is. If you are absolutely certain you did this correctly, well and good. If not, I'd recommend you do it again. You normally only need to do it once, but you have to be sure that the hub is horizontal.

There's a good write up on ACC re-calibration. You don't need to build an elaborate test fixture if you don't want to. Remove the straps from the batter plate and use a small spirit level to measure whether the hub is level or not. Use Post-It's or whatever comes to hand until the hub is level both along the long axis of the battery plate and across the short axis. If you have the camera gimbal mounted -- remove it. If you just have three landing gear on booms, they're hardmounted to the booms so you can just shim them to level the battery plate.

If you do re-calibrate the ACC, try a test flight to see whether you've corrected the problem. If not, read on...